Posted on

CX Worlds: Dutch Cycling announce Team for home event

Mathieu Van der Poel and Marianne Vos lead the Dutch Team in a bid to bring home multiple World Titles on home soil this weekend in Valkenburg! Here’s the team in full:

Elite Men

Mathieu van der Poel
Lars van der Haar
Corné van Kessel
David van der Poel
Stan Godrie

Elite Women

Maud Kaptheijns
Lucinda Brand
Annemarie Worst
Thalita de Jong
Marianne Vos


Joris Nieuwenhuis
Jens Dekker
Sieben Wouters
Maik van der Heijden
Kelvin Bakx
Thymen Arensman

U23 Women

Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado
Inge van der Heijden
Fleur Nagengast
Manon Bakker
Yara Kastelijn

Junior Men

Ryan Kamp
Pim Ronhaar
Luke Verburg
Bart Artz
Mees Hendrikx

Posted on

Great Britain announce Team for 2018 Cyclocross World Championship

Here’s the 13 riders which will represent Great Britain this weekend in Limburg, for the 2018 CX World Champs

Elite men

Ian Field

Elite women

Nikki Brammeier
Bethany Crumpton
Helen Wyman

Under-23 men

Tom Pidcock
Dan Tulett
Ben Turner

Under-23 women

Harriet Harnden
Anna Kay
Evie Richards

Junior men

Sean Flynn
Ben Tulett
Jenson Young

Posted on

Review: GripGrab Raptor Gloves

Wout Van Aert, Marianne Vos, Tom Pidcock… All multiple World Champions and all with something in common. The GripGrab Raptor gloves have been around for a few years now and have enjoyed plenty of success – we thought it would be good to see why so many athletes are opting for the Raptor Gloves in Cyclocross.

WVA GripGrab
Photo: GripGrab / @naimawieczorreck


GripGrab, based in the cold climate of Denmark, clearly know how to make a warm glove and this was immediately evident in near freezing temperatures endured during testing, but these are a race glove so although warmth is key for Cyclocross we were confident these could be worn in races all year round, so have focused more on the specific details of the design.

As you’d expect with Grip in the company name, the grip on our muddy handlebars was exceptional, thanks to rubber printing on the palm, fingers and thumb making sure your fingers don’t slip off the bars or levers which was summed up by the brands motto ‘Never lose your Grip’. Hidden from the outside, the InsideGrip™ technology features silicon grips located inside the glove which are claimed to improve friction between glove and palm, making the glove work like a second skin with an unprecedented grip. The fingertips incorporate the same approach and ensures grip to the brake levers and gear shifters.

We too were impressed with the breathability, with the slip-in cuff allowing easy removal at the end of a muddy race, whilst the breathable softshell back allowed air to reach our hands even during high intensity races, yet the windproof design preventing that horrible feeling of wind rushing through your hands.

With ourselves located in the U.K, the typical British Winter provided us with some ideal rainy test conditions. Although the glove is not fully waterproof, we were impressed by how dry our hands kept, and linking back to the impressive warmth avoided us suffering from any cold hands during testing.

Finally a few nice additional features such as the sweat wiper and no padding again show why the Raptor Glove is tailored to suit Cyclocross Racers. We were also a fan of the Touch Screen Compatibility – allowing us to get some photos whilst still keeping our hands warm and dry!


More information at


GripGrab Raptor Cyclocross Glove Review
Product Testing
Posted on

News: Belgium announce team for Cyclocross World Championships

Following the recent announcement of the US team for Limburg2018 CX World Championships, it was the turn of the Belgians who today announced their 28 rider strong team for the event in Valkenburg next week.

The key talking point is the decision from Belgian coach Sven Vanthourenhout to not select last years Bronze Medalist Kevin Pauwels. Pauwels hasn’t been in the thick of the action in recent weeks and has struggled form wise depsite still currently sitting 6th in the World Rankings – another topic for debate with UCI Rules stating a country must select their highest 3 ranked riders inside the top 50 of the ranking and Pauwels currently being the 3rd highest Belgian, however with Aerts set to move above him this week after finishing third yesterday in Nommay it looks like Pauwels will be missing from the start line next sunday…

Belgian Cycling Team for CX Worlds Limburg 2018Belgian Cycling Team for CX Worlds Limburg 2018

Posted on

Video: “It’s all about having fun” Mathieu Van der Poel showcases his amazing talent on the beaches of Calpe

Mathieu Van der Poel once again proves why he is known to many as the most skillful CX rider… this latest edit from Ride Shimano showcases a variety of jumps, tricks and sand riding with VDP on-board his new Canyon Inflite CF SLX running the new Shimano Duraace Di2 Hydraulic Groupset.

One handed sand riding, jumping over expensive equipment, crashes and drop-offs – this edit has it all!

Let us know if you’d dare to recreate and attempt some of these moves!

Posted on

USA Announce 31 Strong Team for Cyclocross Worlds

USA Cycling were the first to announce their team of riders taking to the start for the 2018 CX World Championships in Valkenburg, here’s the line up in full:

Elite Men

Tristan Cowie (Triple Oaks Racing; Mills River, NC)
Stephen Hyde* (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld; Easthampton, MA)
Cody Kaiser (LangeTwins/Specialized Bicycles/SRAM; El Dorado Hills, CA)
Jack Kisseberth (JAM Fund/NCC; Westhampton, MA)
Tobin Ortinblad* (Santa Cruz/Donkey Label; Santa Cruz, CA)
Jeremy Powers (Aspire Racing; Easthampton, MA)
Kerry Werner* (Kona Endurance Team; Birdsboro, PA)

Elite Women

Elle Anderson ( – Alpha Motorhomes; Oakland, CA)
Katie Compton* (KFC Racing p/b Trek/Panache; Colorado Springs, CO)
Rebecca Fahringer (Stan’s No Tubes/Maxxis; Concord, NH)
Kaitin Keough* (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld; Colorado Springs, CO)
Courtenay McFadden (GE Capital/American Classic; Bellingham, WA)
Ellen Noble* (Aspire Racing; Kennebunkport, ME)

Under-23 Men

Eric Brunner (EVOL DevoElite Racing; Boulder, CO)
Maxx Chance (EVOL DevoElite Racing; Boulder, CO)
Grant Ellwood (Boulder Cycle Sport; Boulder, CO)
Gage Hecht* (Alpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru; Parker, CO)
Spencer Petrov (ASPIRE Racing; Mason, OH)
Denzel Stephenson (EVOL DevoElite Racing; Boulder, CO)

Under-23 Women

Hannah Arensman (J.A. King p/b BR’C; Rutherford College, NC)
Katie Clouse (Alpha Bicycle Co.-Groove Subaru; Park City, UT)
Clara Honsinger (Washington State Bicycle Association, Portland, OR)
Laurel Rathbun (Donnelly Cycling; Monument, CO)
Emma Swartz (Trek Cyclocross Collective; Madison, WI)
Emma White* (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld; Delanson, NY)

Junior Men

Scott Funston* (Rad Racing NW; Maple Valley, WA)
Benjamin Gomez Villafane* (Top Club; Scotts Valley, CA)
Lane Maher (Hot Tubes Development Cycling; Harwinton, CT)
Alex Morton* (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld; Saint Clair, MI)
Sam Noel (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld; Shelburne, VT)
Calder Wood* (Rad Racing NW; Anacortes, WA)

Automatic qualifiers are noted with an asterisk (*)

For more information on the event, read our guide to the CX Worlds here